Introducing: Zelecia The Black Wizard! Dead Rock Chapter 8 BREAKDOWN

This post is a Re-Upload of an old post I did on my New Site- “Pirate King Seraph” with Webresolvers. If you want to see more- as well as check out our merch store- then visit the link at the Beginning and End of This post. Enjoy!

I actually tried not to use that title; it felt a little too………….. “Boring-” like that was the ONLY thing that happened in the chapter. Which it isn’t. The MAIN Thing to come out of this chapter(despite its name), but not the only thing. Ah………… Man, I am SPACING on what to say right now. I wouldn’t say I’m “bored” right now, but……… I’m not exactly “Enthused” like I have been in previous months. Not to take away from this chapters quality, because it’s keeping a level of consistency with past chapters. It’s more to do with ME right now; I’m just kind of sleepy right now- have been for the past 2 days. I’m currently working on my expectations for Dragon Ball Daima, as well as that review for the Granolah The Survivor arc that I’ve been neglecting. Guess I’ll also take this chance to tell you guys: I am Not Review The Super Hero saga- I already covered the movie; what could I say that hasn’t already been said? I’ll save myself the trouble and focus on something important instead. Like this update to an old post I’m working on. 

Ah…………… D@mn, I am feeling H#ll@ unmotivated right now. I genuinely like the chapter; I’m just PHYSICALLY exhausted right now!! I don’t think I’m doing a very good job promoting this chapter. In all honesty, it might be a sign that Mashima’s extending the length of the series. Or, well; it might be a Natural extension of the story- an addition to the narrative by nature of storytelling………….. if that makes sense. For those unaware: Mangaka like Horikoshi and Kishimoto- creators of My Hero Academia and Naruto respectively- have gone on record talking about how long their respective Tournament arcs ended up being; both of them saying that their Tournaments ended up being twice as long as what they were planning. Kishimoto even gave this advice to Horikoshi: “When coming up with a story arc, expect it to be twice as long as what you planned.” There it is- I’m wide awake now. 

But yeah; it might be something like that: Just the story by its nature becoming a little bit longer than what Mashima had in mind. What is this plot point I’m talking about? We’ll get into that. And now that I’m thinking about it- it might actually lead to some Bigger story down the line. That would be cool. This series honestly feels like everything I wished My Hero could have been. I’ll explain what I mean later(probably), I’m starting to feel tired again. Let’s start the post– I usually “perk up” by the time of the “Review” section. Dead Rock Chapter 8: “Yakuto vs Cougar.” Let’s begin………….

Overview

LAST TIME: Yakuto, Zelecia(Chako), Frey, and Hani came to Dead Rock’s Library “Cursed Velocity” to find the book that contains God’s Weakness. But they are met by the 3rd year Cougar The Red Lion, who kidnaps Frey for her looks. The conflict ends up making too much noise, so the Library Guardian sees fit to split them up. Hani tries to take a “shortcut” by smashing the bookcases- only to be smashed apart themselves. The top priority right now is for them to find Frey, so Hani sends them ahead to find her. Cougar And Jack(Jack-O-Lantern): Cougar orders Jack to turn Frey back to normal. He does, but she’s still unconscious. He kisses her on the cheek, reciting some dumb@$$ poem again, and tells Jack to watch over her- he’s gonna go and kill Yakuto. He claims to know this Library like the back of his hand…………..

Yakuto and Zelecia: They’re lost- they’re walking by a shelf of “Dirty books” when Cougar’s underlings come to pick a fight. Zelecia decides to take them on herself, wanting to work out some of her anger for being ignored by Cougar in favor of Frey. She unveils her powers- “Black Magic” in the form of smoke that crushes them all in an instant. She thinks that a “Black Wizard” and a “Black Dragon” might make for a good team. But unfortunatelythese jokers are dead, and they’re are without Mikoto to zombify them. Class F Homeroom: Mikoto sneezes, and Reizen asks if it’s because she’s getting sick from always being bare foot. She explains that she absorbs power through the ground- being bare foot makes it easier. While Hien is too stuck on what Yakuto did for him in chapter 1. So he’s off to do something……………

Yakuto and Zelecia: Zelecia gets an idea; she thinks that Cursed Velocity is designed to show you whatever book you wish to read. To test that, she simply asks for “A Book To Show Them Where Frey Is.” And it’s manifested on the shelf- map and all. But before they can go to Frey- they have to get passed Cougar. He asked for a book that showed him THEIR location. Zel asks Cougar why someone like him chooses to set up shop in a Library of all places. He explains that God doesn’t come to Cursed Veloctiy, so he’s able to get away with a lot more. He doesn’t really care WHY, but this confirms in Yakuto’s mind that God’s Weakness is likely contained in here somewhere. But they can look for that book laterthey’re trying to save Frey and defeat Cougar. PROBLEM: Cougar’s stronger than he had expectedYakuto can’t take him on as he is right now. Nor can Zel. It looks like they’re done for until– 

HIEN Comes To Their Rescue?!

He says that he has now repaid his debt to Yakuto. But what’s MORE confusing: Cougar refers to him as “Little Master Hien.” They know each other. But the Black Duo(gonna have to think of a new name for them) is left in a state of confusion as to what’s going on. Dead Rock Chapter 8 END!! Not WIDE awake, but we’re getting there………….

REVIEW

 There are………… a Great Many Things that I want to say. One of them continues to point out how- while they are, at the end of the day, Demons who will kill you without much hesitation- they are not all together “Heartless.” Mashima’s making it clear by Yakuto’s choice of saving Frey first and Zelecia’s choice to help him in that that these aren’t “Monsters.” They’ll kill ya, but only if you’re an active problem; they’re not the types that’ll go around just “killing whoever for whatever.” But I’ve talked about that a lot in most of the other reviews, so it’s probably time to stop just retreading old ground and bring in Newer topics. You get that I like the writing behind this series so far; at this point it would be beating a dead horse to tell you that. Rather, I’ll bring up where this type of writing is going at this point. And it has to do a lot with what happened in this chapter: Yakuto Lost To Cougar. 

Power Scaling……………… is not my “Forte(especially when it comes to Hiro Mashima series),” so I won’t say 100% that a Full Powered Yakuto could beat this guy. I’m simply saying that he’ll think it would have been a more “Even Match” if he had his full strength again. As such, I think he’ll take the next opportunity he gets to ask the Library how to get his strength back. Will Hien stand in the way of that? Just to make it easier on himself when it’s time to fight Yakuto? I don’t think so. Simply because “It won’t be a problem even if he DOES get his strength back-“ or so he thinks. In whatever case, I think the others will help him in that goal(the one’s helping him in the First Place), detouring from fighting against God for a minute and choosing to build up their strength for the Event. They’ll need all the strength they can get, and they recognize that Yakuto was pretty darn Strong before his punishment. But how will he get his powers back? Just ask the Library. The reason a Boarding School Library contains “Every Book In The Demon Realm” is because it can Answer Every Question You Ask It. From the fact that it has books on current events, you could probably ask it just about Anything. I say “Just About” because- let’s be honestGod’s Weakness Probably Isn’t In Here Anywhere. It’s probably the only place that would, but it probably doesn’t; that would be “too easy.” We might learn SOMETHING about God here- like………………………….

For the full post, be sure to visit the link. And Don’t forget to check out our Merch Store. Hope To See you there!!